A fair wynd blows

Tonight I’m trying another drink from Gaz Regan’s app, a riff on the old standard The Last Word.  I’ve been keeping more fresh fruit in the house, so I get to play with some brighter flavors: leaning towards the sweet/sour side of the equation rather than the hot/spirit-forward side.  I made a small tweak and used cane syrup instead of honey just because honey can be a little difficult to incorporate into cold liquids.  This cocktail was another tasty option (you really can’t go wrong with rum and lime), but again, it’s not a drink that I would necessarily go back to frequently just because it was tasty but not stellar.  If you’re looking for new ways to drink rum, however, I would definitely give this a try; the ingredients are all good standards that you’ll use again and again in multiple types of drinks.

The Last Wynd, Sian Ferguson, 99 Bar and Kitchen, Aberdeen, Scotland (2014)

 

