Back on the mainland

Those who follow my Instagram (@cocktailmonologue) know that I spent last week in Honolulu, Hawaii.  Although my travel was for work, I did manage to check in at several great restaurants/cocktail bars to try out the local booze scene.  I hit local favorites (Duke’s and Roy’s) and found a few less-known places (Kai Poke and Bar Leather Apron) that served up some lovely drinks.  Now that I’m mostly settled back into my normal life, I decided to pull through the tropical theme with a pineapple variant of the Mojito (using Plantation’s Stiggins’ Pineapple Rum).  And to be honest, I wanted to be able to take advantage of the fresh mint available in my own backyard.  I really enjoy the Stiggins’ rum, but it doesn’t quite fit in with the mint (you essentially get two nice but constrasting tastes, with the pineapple funkiness leading the bright mint).  Still, you really can’t go wrong when you mix pineapple and rum, especially if you’re hanging on to that island farm of mind.

Pineapple Mojito

Leave a Reply

