Kentucky summertime

I bought Paul Clarke’s The Cocktail Chronicles more than a year ago, but I’m just starting to dig into its pages.  I’ve been very impressed so far: you get a great combination of new recipes, classic recipes, and a lot of interesting stories about cocktail life in general.  The drink I pulled today only made me like the book even more.  I rarely have fresh strawberries on hand, but I was lucky to have a couple mostly-fresh strawberries on hand to make this delicious sipper.  The simple syrup really brings out the sweetness of the strawberry, which in turn is a great foil for the spicy ginger beer.  It’s a beautiful day out here, and it’s a perfect compliment to this lovely drink.  (And if you’re wondering, yes, that is an Alien pint glass.)

Kentucky Buck, Erick Castro via The Cocktail Chronicles

