Manhattan Monday

I really love the Manhattan. On its own (2 ounces whiskey, preferably rye, 1 ounce sweet vermouth, 2 dashes bitters), it leaves room for a ton of variety. Even better, it’s easy to play around with the template and still end up with a drinkable beverage. Search the internet for “Manhattan variations” and you’ll have enough hits to keep you busy for months. Today, I looked to the South in order to visit a Manhattan suburb (apologies to East Coasters who don’t consider Jersey a ‘burb), and was pleasantly surprised to find a delicious Manhattan variant. I am generally not a huge fan of maraschino, but this small jot was perfect to elevate the drink. I added some of my favorite bitters since I used Carpano Antica rather than Punt e Mes as recommended in the recipe. From Thirsty South. 

Red Hook, via Thirsty South

