Win, place, show

So, yesterday’s drink wasn’t quite my cup of tea, but I’m going to stick with my “split personality” theme and try another cocktail where the ingredients don’t immediately make sense together. I also love that the Triple Crown (again, via Brooklyn Bartender) uses pamplemousse (grapefruit) liqueur; the color on this product is just so lovely, but it’s delicate and easily overpowered. (For those in the Pacific Northwest, Little Bird Bistro has a fantastic cocktail called La Vie en Rose.  I picked up the pamplemousse liqueur in an attempt to duplicate that drink, thought I have, sadly, been unsuccessful so far.)  I really like this drink!  The first taste is sweet wth a touch of sour, but I still get an actual bourbon flavor and the amaro keeps everything linked together. This one definitely hits the Winner’s Circle (sorry for the painfully obvious joke, but I can’t help myself). 

Triple Crown, Jay Zimmerman from Ba’asik

