Manhattan Monday: Proof edition

I spent this weekend in Seattle at Proof Washington, a festival for local distillers.  In other words, I was a kid in a candy shop.  We splurged for the VIP tickets and got early access to the floor, and considering the quantity of people who were there by the time we left at 7, it was worth it.  Not only did we get to sample some great local spirits, but we also had plenty of delicious food to balance out the liquor.  There’s so much creativity in the craft spirits world right now, and I’m proud to see so much in the state where I live.  I did manage to pick up a few treats, which I’ll be trying out at home and sharing in the coming weeks.  I’m starting with Jammy, a delicious sweet vermouth from broVo.  I’ve seen broVo products in my local liquor store, and was excited to get a chance to try them out and learn more.  This vermouth definitely delivers on the sweet, but in a rich way that balances well with rye.  Although I have become one of the vermouth-faithful, I feel like this vermouth could be a great entry-level product for someone interested in knowing more about what can go into their Manhattan.

img_2081

