Daiquiri dreams

It’s cold and wet where I am, and my mind helplesslessly pines for the Caribbean blue waters and island breezes of the cruise I left just over a week ago. Visiting tropical climes in the winter is really an exercise in masochism: no matter how much you enjoy the moment, home always seems a little less desirable while your personal climate readjusts. Of course, this mentality also betrays my personal cynicism right now, borne of all the joyous anxiety from returning to work after a two week plus vacation (and my innate anxious, neurotic Self).

In any case, today’s cocktail is a lovely, albeit temporary, medication for my condition. Captain’s Blood is a classic cocktail from Crosby Gaige’s Cocktail Guide and Ladies’ Companion (1945), and it’s a perfect example of what a great base the daiquiri is for even minor riffs. Today I used Appleton V/X, but any good aged run will do well here.  

Captain’s Blood, Crosby Gaige, Cocktail Guide and Ladies’ Companion

